Food Does Matter!

My raw food journey has so far not been about raw food but more about whole foods and healthy eating. I have been discovering some great information along the way, so as I discover things I want to pass this on to anyone that may read this blog…

 I recently watched an amazing DVD on the importance of food for our health. It is called “Food Matters”. Key experts discuss the notion of using food as your medicine i.e. helping your body by giving it the best nutrients possible. They advocate organic and fresh produce and a high raw diet.

It makes so much sense, doesn’t it? Give your body what it needs and it will function to the best it can. After watching this DVD I really assessed what I was valuing: high quality food or a hot new pair of Spanish made leather boots? And yes I WAS valuing the Spanish boots, so I bought cheaper fruit and veg from the supermarket. Now, however, my first priority is fresh and nutritious food, all of which I have found on line*.  My health is the most important as without it what do I have have? I certainly can’t enjoy my Spanish leather boots if I can’t get out and about in them.

I highly recommend anyone and everyone watch Food Matters. I have been telling everyone about it. So far 3 of my work colleagues have watched it, which is great! One of them has already made small dietary changes by no longer drinking cans of energy drinks and starting her day with a few glasses of water. In Food Matters they suggest you start the day with 1 litre of water. I have also started doing this and have noticed such a difference to my energy levels in the morning! The other key point from this DVD is the importance of raw foods and vitamins for our health. They discuss the effect of raw foods vs cooked foods and suggest incorporating at least 50% raw foods with each meal. This is a great way to incorporate the raw food diet without any drastic changes needed. I am now doing this and feel great for it.
… please please please go and watch it! You can buy Food Matters on line at:
http://www.foodmatters.tv/

* Some great on line food stores I use are:
www.lettucedeliver.com.au
They deliver organic fruit and veg to your door at a minimal price or you can pick it up for free.  They also offer a great range of groceries.

www.aussiefarmers.com.au
Some organic but predominately not. However, they are great way to support Australian produce and avoid shopping at the big supermarkets. They sell Australian fruit and veg, meat (I was told on the phone by their customer service team that their meat is all free range), bread, dairy and some speciality products. They appear to pride themselves on providing fresh produce (that hasn’t been sitting around in cold storage) and providing a way for consumers to avoid the the big name supermarkets.

http://www.urbanfoodmarket.com.au/
This is great for ethical, free range meat. They explain that they have visited all the farms their meat comes from to ensure the animal and lands are looked after and promise meat from “animals the way they were intended to be grown. Naturally…”

About Radha

I have a passion for good healthy food. My intention is to inspire others to live and eat healthy by sharing my ideas, discoveries and knowledge about healthy food and lifestyles.

Posted on July 31, 2011, in cooking, eating out, ethical meat, food, free range, fresh produce, health, health food, organic. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Milking Almonds

100% plantbased food 4 life

Start to be Healthy Now

healthy living, healthy eating, healthy being

The Ali Family's Food Adventure

Documenting our healthy eating...

mindbodygreen

Inspirations for a healthier you

in pursuit of more

the blog about living with (just a little) less

Oh She Glows

Inspirations for a healthier you

The Healthy Chef – Teresa Cutter

Inspirations for a healthier you

food by holly davis

nurturing, nourishing, delectable wholefood classes, catering, consulting & writing since 1984

he needs food

eat | travel | cook

Civilized Caveman Cooking Creations

Inspirations for a healthier you

Live Right Be Healthy

Inspirations for a healthier you

Paleo Spirit

Primal fitness for mind, body and soul

Healtherella

Inspirations for a healthier you

