"Houston we have a problem"

A work colleague mentioned to me today about how she finds it so easy to eat healthily at home but once she goes out for a meal she finds it very hard to find healthy food. This colleague is as passionate about healthy food as me, so I know she is really trying to find the healthiest food possible. I think about my efforts to eat healthily, let alone raw, while out in public and it usually ends up being sushi! Which, lets face it, may be low in fat and have a little fish or veges but how much fibre and nutrients am I getting? Salads I often find to be disappointing. Even when we choose the healthy takeaway option for dinner i.e Thai, or Japanese it can still be loaded with salt/sugars/fat and/or little fibre. If you go to a nice restaurant we are no safer: as we see on Master Chef, Chefs put so much salt and butter in their cooking! Thus, while your taste buds may be singing your body may be screaming!

This fact was bought to my attention again today during our staff meeting, when the only option for our takeaway dinner was pizza or chicken burger. Unfortunately I had not been prepared enough this morning to bring my own food so, I opted for the chicken burger as I figured their would be at least some salad and protein…
And I’m paying for it now (hello bloated stomach and after taste of fat).
So I ask where is all the healthy, nutritious and delicious food hiding? Is it only to be found behind the closed doors of some people’s homes?
With all our great produce in Australia should it not be more visible in the foods we can buy?
I do know I have to be more organised if I am to continue on this raw journey but it would just be great to know there was more healthy and delicious choices for all of us out there…

About Radha

I have a passion for good healthy food. My intention is to inspire others to live and eat healthy by sharing my ideas, discoveries and knowledge about healthy food and lifestyles.

Posted on July 19, 2011, in eating out, food, health, health food, healthy food, takeaway. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Milking Almonds

100% plantbased food 4 life

Start to be Healthy Now

healthy living, healthy eating, healthy being

The Ali Family's Food Adventure

Documenting our healthy eating...

mindbodygreen

Inspirations for a healthier you

in pursuit of more

the blog about living with (just a little) less

Oh She Glows

Inspirations for a healthier you

The Healthy Chef – Teresa Cutter

Inspirations for a healthier you

food by holly davis

nurturing, nourishing, delectable wholefood classes, catering, consulting & writing since 1984

he needs food

eat | travel | cook

Civilized Caveman Cooking Creations

Inspirations for a healthier you

Live Right Be Healthy

Inspirations for a healthier you

Paleo Spirit

Primal fitness for mind, body and soul

Healtherella

Inspirations for a healthier you

